Daycare Drama.

Well, I’ve officially had my first total mama meltdown. Ok, that’s a lie. I’ve had a few meltdowns in the past 4 months. But, most of them happened in the first 6 weeks of T’s life and could definitely be contributed to the craziness that is postpartum hormones.

Anyway. We went to the daycare (which is part of a local church) last week to register T, since I’ll be going back to work in August. When we initially visited in April, it was a nice, clean, slightly dated– yet lovely facility. When we went last week to register, we found out they were actually remodeling the daycare facility. They had moved the classes over to the adult Sunday school wing.

Now, I should preface this by saying that there was really nothing wrong with where they had the kids. It just… wasn’t what I expected.

The director was gone for the day when we got there, so we couldn’t register T that day anyway. It’s a good thing, because I got in the car and LOST IT. It was a moment of, “I can’t leave my baaaaaaaay-beeeeeee.” There were a lot of tears, a lot of snot, and a lot of babbling on incoherently. Thankfully, my husband knows just what to do in those types of situations.

He took me out to dinner.

We talked it over and decided that maybe daycare wasn’t where we wanted T after all. Of course, with just 3 weeks left until I went back to work, we were gonna need to think fast.

Ultimately, we decided that my sister and one of my closest friends (who happens to have a baby boy just 2 weeks younger than T) are going to take care of him for us! John is always home in the afternoons, so we really just needed someone in the mornings.

I’m thrilled. Of course, I’m still sad to leave my baby. I can’t believe I won’t be the one taking care of him all the time anymore. I’ll really miss that!

About thedairyqueenmama

First-time Mom & second grade teacher from the great state of Louisiana. Loves coffee. Hates traffic jams.

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Daycare, Parenting, Trindon, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sounds like a great solution! Glad it worked out so well.

  2. So glad you found a solution! Your blog is fabulous, Lauren. Even though I have several years before bearing children, it is flat out entertaining! Keep it up so I’ll have this resource when my day comes! 😉

  3. I have been living under a rock lately.. aka.. baby has needed me 24/7.. and haven’t gotten the chance to read your blog lately.. but so glad I found time today..
    I love how detailed your stories are.. My eyes drew some wetness reading this one.. I work here and there.. 8 out of 10 days last week.. but normally once or twice a week.. But I’ve been lucky.. granny comes to visit for the weekdays.. VBS was last week.. and daddy is home on Sunday.. and then I get to take her with me to church/work.. I like that part.
    Just be strong.. It will make the time you have to spend with T so much more cherished.. If that’s possible..
    <3xojo

Leave a Reply

