Oatmeal… It’s What’s for Dinner!

I’ve always loved oatmeal. It’s so yummy and warm and comforting. When I read that it is good for nursing mothers because it boosts your milk supply, I was thrilled. Apparently, oatmeal is low in cholesterol and high in iron. So, besides being delicious, it has some key nutrients that are known to increase milk production.

Even if you aren’t lactating, admit it, chocolate chip oatmeal cookies sound pretty good, right? I’ll be making these this weekend:

1 C butter
1 C sugar
1 C brown sugar
4 T water
2 T flaxseed meal (no subs)
2 Lg eggs
1 t vanilla
2 C flour
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
3 C Thick cut oats
1 C Chocolate chips
2 T Brewers Yeast (no substitutions)

Preheat oven at 375.

Mix 2 T of flaxseed meal and water, set aside 3-5 minutes. Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs. Stir flaxseed mix into butter mix and add vanilla. Beat until well blended. Sift: dry ingredients, except oats and choc chips. Add butter mix to dry ingredients. Stir in the oats and then the choc chips. Drop on parchmant paper on baking sheet.

Bake 8-12 minutes.

If you’re not making these cookies to increase milk production, I’d leave out the flaxseed and brewer’s yeast! 😉 Those are added to the recipe for purely lactogenic reasons. I recommend using milk chocolate chips rather than semi-sweet.  Also, using parchment paper is especially important. It’s a little pricey, but well worth it to use anytime you’re baking cookies! It makes the cookies nice and crisp without burning the bottoms. It’s definitely the secret to perfect cookies! I would imagine these would also be really tasty if you added a cup of shredded coconut? Or some almond slivers? I’ll be experimenting with these this weekend, so I’ll let you know how they turn out!

About thedairyqueenmama

First-time Mom & second grade teacher from the great state of Louisiana. Loves coffee. Hates traffic jams.

Posted on June 30, 2011, in Breastfeeding, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. So crazy that you blogged about it. I just visited your blog as I was biting into my freshly baked oatmeal cookies! hahahahaha! I make them a good bit different and I didn’t think of adding in the flax and yeast….I know that yeast is why some say that drinking a dark beer increases supply too. I’ve mainly stuck to staying very hydrated and eating lots of oatmeal, oh and Life cereal, which is made with oats.

    Great idea on posting the recipe here!

  2. I’m a little jealous that you’re eating some now… I STILL haven’t had the time to make them! Okay, actually, I’ve had the time… I just haven’t had the energy to drive to Whole Foods to get flaxseed & brewer’s yeast. Maybe tomorrow?

  3. Actually leave the flax seed in, it’s a source of omega-3 fatty acids (good fats)! 🙂

  4. I make a batch and split it in 3, 1 batch for now and 2 for later. I have added carob bits and dried apricot yummo!

  1. Pingback: Finally Got Around To… « The Dairy Queen

Leave a Reply

