Why didn’t I think of this before?!?

I’ve been using the Lansinoh breast milk storage bags to freeze T’s milk for when I go back to work. They work great, have a double zipper seal so I’m not nervous about losing the milk to a spill, and they lay flat in the freezer. They’re fairly reasonably priced ($9.99 for 50 at Target), and I was given 2 packages at my baby shower. I recently bought a box because I had used all of the ones I had been given.

I may be a little late to the game here, but… I recently discovered these. I know, I know… why not just buy a regular .99 cent ice cube trays and store the milk in those. Well, if you’ve ever spent a painstaking twenty minutes in order to pump a mere 2 oz, then you know exactly why. If I put my milk in an ice cube tray and it spilled in the freezer, I’d cry. Seriously. It would be a big time, melt-down, totally-losing-it kind of cry. Yes, I know I can always make more… but it’s a LOT of work to pump, and I don’t just love doing it. The thought of wasting any is enough to drive me to tears. These breast milk trays have lids on them to protect the milk from freezer burn (although, if you read the reviews, they are not recommended for long-term freezer storage. The lids are not airtight.), and they are premeasured so that each cube is 1 oz. PERFECT!

I’m ordering these now. They’re definitely more economical, and having the milk frozen in smaller quantities will be nice too… I’ll let you know if they are worth it.

About thedairyqueenmama

First-time Mom & second grade teacher from the great state of Louisiana. Loves coffee. Hates traffic jams.

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Breastfeeding, Products. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yayy! Now I have someone to talk about booby stuff to, haha!

    Seriously though. I’ve got a good pump and it seems like I NEEVERRR find the time to pump to store! How do you do it?! If Cole isn’t on the boob, I’m running to do dishes or laundry or dealing with CJ or working from home. I need ideas of when I should be doing this to help store so I don’t have to keep supplementing with formula when we have a night out! It’s sooo frustrating to know that you can’t pump as much as he gets at the breast 😦

    Other than that though, I am LOVING breastfeeding. Since I didn’t do it with CJ (he had a very poor latch, rather non-existent) I wasn’t sure that I would really be able to do it this time around. I’m really surprised at how much I enjoy it.

    • When I nursed my girls, I would pump an extra 5-10 minutes right after I nursed since I was already in “cow” mode. I got tired of it sure but it would add up. I used the little milk bottles and the zipper bags b/c you can thaw them out in a cup of hot water and not water the “liquid gold” down. Also with the bottles, if I only had a little bit of milk, I’d put it one of the bottles and then the next time I pumped, I’d add it to the unfilled bottle.

    • Kim is right, just do a little at a time. It may take you all day (or even a couple of days) to pump enough for one feed. That’s okay, though… The more you pump, the more you’ll produce. When I first started pumping, I would only get .5 oz total! Now I can get 3-4 oz at a time, depending on the time of day. It also got SO much easier for us after the 8-week mark. T started stretching out his feedings a little, and I could pump during naps.

  2. I got some bottles instead (the Medela ones: http://www.amazon.com/Medela-Breastmilk-Freezing-Packaging-87061/dp/B0009XBX4K/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1309824992&sr=8-2) – they are also pretty small, but I only used them for milk storage in the first few months after my boy was born. I also felt that using bags to freeze 1-2 oz of milk, which was maximum amount that I was able to collect in a 24 hour period (I was hand-expressing milk after each session) was kind of wasteful. I stopped expressing extra milk when my son and my body became tuned to one another and I did not have to feed him anything on top of what he was getting out of the boobs himself through nursing.

    I do use the bottles still to freeze baby food – and I like the fact that they have lids and such. It is probably a little bit less convenient to get food in and out of them now as opposed to trays.

  3. It sounds like we had this revelation about the same time. Hopefully I get these in the mail today..

    http://holdingontothelittlethings.typepad.com/blog/2011/07/ready-to-start-making-that-baby-food.html

    Gonna use the trays for milk now and also food later!

    <3xojo

Leave a Reply

